March 27, 2023

Heisman prelude? Alabama’s Younger wins Maxwell

In what might have been a preview of Saturdays Heisman Trophy event, Alabama quarterback Bryce Young gained the Maxwell Award Thursday night time, given to the faculty soccer individual of the 12 months.
Younger beat out Pitt quarterback Kenny Pickett, and Michigan State working again Kenneth Walker III for the award. Younger was additionally the winner of the Davey OBrien Award, offered to the nations biggest quarterback, vanquishing Pickett and Ohio States C.J. Stroud.
In 13 computer game, Younger published 4,322 passing backyards, 43 touchdowns, and simply 4 interceptions with a 68 % completion proportion, main Alabama to a 12-1 file, and the No. 1 score within the School Soccer Playoff.


2ndMark Schlabach

1 AssociatedGeorgia defensive handle Jordan Davis was another star of the night, taking house each the Outland Trophy (awarded to the nations most outstanding inside lineman) and the Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive participant of the 12 months).
Davis signs up with Nebraskas Ndamukong Suh (2009) and Pitts Aaron Donald (2013) as the one gamers to win each the Outland and Bednarik awards in the identical season.
Cincinnati, who finished the common season undefeated and earned an area within the School Soccer Playoff, had winners in head coach Luke Fickell and defensive again Coby Bryant, taking house the Residence Depot Coach of the 12 months and Jim Thorpe Award respectively.
Kenneth Walker III turned the main Michigan State working once again to win the Doak Walker award, after rushing for 1,636 yards and 18 touchdowns. Walkers greatest performance of the season got here towards Michigan, when he hurried for 197 lawns and 5 goals in a 37-33 success in East Lansing.
Pitt big receiver Jordan Addison took home the Biletnikoff award after capturing 93 passes for 1,479 backyards and 17 getting goals (initially in FBS).
Iowas Tyler Linderbaum was the Rimington Award winner after falling quick final 12 months to Alabamas Landon Dickerson, whereas San Diego States celebrity punter Matt Araiza acquired the Ray Man Award, and Michigan kicker Jake Moody acquired the Lou Groza Award.